Start of Fall Season

I love fall. I love being able to bundle up in comfy clothes again. I love the changing colours. And I love the abundance of veggies on the market! The best of all (in my book) being: PUMPKINS!

I celebrate the start of autumn with this little tradition I created: I invite one or more friends and make my very yummie pumpkin soup, the first of the season 🙂 This year, I invited one of my Book Club friends who has invited herself over for dinner on more than one occasion 😉 The soup was a hit (as was the company :-))

I found this recipe years ago somewhere and I just keep on making it. There is a “secret” ingredient which I think gives it it’s special sweet taste: granny smith apples.

Best Pumpkin Soup Ever

  • about 1kg pumpkin
  • 3 granny smith apples, peeled and chopped
  • 1-2 onions, chopped
  • 750 ml vegetable broth
  • 2 tsp dried rosemary
  • crème fraîche for serving

Start with cutting pumpkin into chunks. This is hard work! Use a good knife, and don’t be surprised if your arms ache the day after 🙂

Put pumpkin, apple, onion and rosemary in pan. Add broth, cover pan and cook for about 40 minutes, stirring occasionally.

After about 40 minutes the pumpkin will be very soft. Purée soup. Add pepper, as much as you like.

Serve with crème fraîche and bread.

Note: as long as you do not add the crème fraîche you can freeze this soup as well. It will keep for a few months. It is also perfect to make ahead of time. As long as you do not add the crème fraîche before serving.

Leave a Reply

