Plum and apple pie

Remember how I “lost my closet? If not, check out this post.

Well, for the last 4 weekends, The Boyfriend, his dad and uncle have been working hard, really, really hard at building me a new one 🙂 I am so, so grateful to them. I don’t know how we would have managed without their help.

Men at work

And now, the ordeal is slowly but surely coming to end. The closet has been built and weekend 4 (and most likely weekend 5  next week) has been spent on painting our new wardrobe.

I might have mentioned here or there that I absolutely dislike undertaking any Do-It-Yourself projects myself. I am just not good at it, not patient enough, or maybe just lazy. I do like the end results, most of the time. So, in lieu of me helping with the actual hard work, I put myself in charge of the food 🙂 Everyone should do what they are good at, right?

So, after working all of Sunday morning, I had this warm plum and apple pie waiting for my knight in shining armor paint specks 😉

Plum and apple pie

Ingredients

  • about 900  grams of fruit (I used plums and apples), washed, peeled, pitted and cut into chunks
  • 150 grams unsalted, melted butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar or vanilla extract
  • 250 grams flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 120 ml milk

Mix eggs with sugar and vanilla using electric mixer for about 5 minutes. Stir in flour and baking powder; mix well (not using electric mixer!). Add melted butter and milk. Pour layer of batter into greased baking tin. Place 3/4 of fruit on top and cover with rest of batter. Place rest of fruit on top and press into batter a little.

Preheat oven to 180 °C (350 °F) and bake for about 1 hour. Let cool for a little and enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

