Very Berry Chutney

My bag of veggies actually also contains 2 different kinds of fruit each week. But I guess I mostly see that as an extra and don’t really see it as anything special. My main focus sofar has always been on the veggies. That is also why I am thinking of switching to the vegetable only bag. Same price, but some more veggies 🙂

Don’t get me wrong: I eat lots of fruit. Mixed fruit in my breakfast yoghurt (banana, pineapple, cherries, mango, strawberries, whatever happens to catch my eye at the market) and apples or pears or something the like with lunch each day. But I hardly ever cook with fruit or use it in dessert or something (I would first need to start making dessert for that to happen, I guess). Also, there is always very little fruit in my bag, almost like it is an afterthought. Which means I am still buying lots of other fruit. Better go for the all veggies one then!

But, as long as I still have fruit in my bag, I decided to create something with fruit for a change. I asked friends on Facebook to give me some suggestions on what to do with white berries I would be getting and I decided to go for the chutney. Not dessert yet, obviously. It turned out to be a perfect make-ahead dish that went perfectly with the curry I had planned for Saturday night.

Ingredients

  • 250 grams berries (the original recipe called for red berries, but the white ones I used worked just fine)
  • 3 red onions, finely chopped (I only used 2, since The Boyfriend is not very fond of onions , to put it mildly)
  • 5 tablespoons red whine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 200 grams light brown sugar
  • 1 cm fresh ginger, grated
  • 8 black peppers

Image

Preparation

Bring berries, onion, vinegar, sugar and ginger to a boil. Stir until all sugar is absorbed. Add salt and pepper and let simmer, uncovered, for about 40 minutes. stir occasionally. Et voila!

The chutney can be stored for several weeks, just keep it in the fridge.

Image

Check out my next post to see how I served this chutney!

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Mango curry with chickpeas and cucumber « spincookeatrepeat

    Leave a Reply

