Perfect summer salad

For reasons I will not bore you with, for about a week now I am without a closet! This might be considered somewhat of a problem as I have loads and loads of clothes, obviously. Luckily, my shoes already had there own closet 😉 My clothes are now all piled up in my spare bedroom, which they share with my desk and laundry.

The Boyfriend and I are working really hard at fixing this little problem. But we reckoned, since my bedroom is almost empty now, we might as well take the opportunity and paint the bedroom first. Before building our own closet! We started with painting just one wall this weekend:

Before

After

Not bad or what? Don’t worry, the rest of the room will not turn red 😉

Building your own closet is not a small feat. Especially not when you dislike DIY as much as I do. Throw in fulltime jobs, a long distance relationship and a busy social live, and there is not that much time for home improvement. Hence, we set the end of summer as our goal to finish this task. We hope to have the bedroom all done by the end of August. Hopefully sooner, but better not set ourselves up for failure! I will keep you posted on our progress and before and afters 🙂

While The Boyfriend was prepping the wall to be painted, I prepared dinner so we would have food at the table after we were done painting. Obviously, I picked the better task 🙂

I saved this recipe from the previous issue of Vegetarian Times. I was drawn to the mango in this dish. I am one of those people who like (warm) fruit in their food 🙂 I know this is not for everyone, but if you like it, this dish is for you!

Soba noodles with Eggplant and Mango

  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 red chili pepper, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • juice and zest from 1 lime
  • 2 eggplants, cut into chunks
  • 8 oz (200 grams) soba noodles (brown rice noodles)
  • 1 mango, cut into chunks
  • fresh basil and cilantro, as much as you like 🙂

Warm rice vinegar, sugar and salt 1 minute until sugar dissolves

Remove from heat and add garlic, chile and sesame oil. Cool and stir in lime juice and zest.

Heat sunflower oil and cook eggplant for 6-8 minutes.

Drain and sprinkle with salt. Leave to drain.

Cook noodles according to package directions.

Drain, rinse under cold water and drain again. Then transfer to dish towel to dry.

Toss noodles with dressing, eggplant, mango, basil and cilantro. Let stand and cool for at least 2 hours.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Plum and apple pie « spincookeatrepeat

    Leave a Reply

